ES-1651
— Rev. 04-22

Department for Children
and Families

Unregulated Child Care Provider Application

Thank you for your interest in becoming a DCF child care provider for families who may be
eligible for DCF Child Care Assistance. This enrollment is used for child care providers who are
not regulated by the Kansas Department of Health and Environment (KDHE). DCF must take
certain steps in order to ensure the health and safety of children in your care who are funded
through the child care assistance program. Prior to completing the enrollment, read and make sure
you understand the DCF Child Care Provider Handbook.

Please return completed application to:

Please return by:

Please note:

 If you are exempt from KDHE licensing, you must attach verification of KDHE
Exempt Status. If your program site is not located at a school attendance center,
Fire Inspection Documentation is required.

« All other Unregulated Provider types must attach Standards set by sponsoring state
or agency.
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DCF UNREGULATED CHILD CARE PROVIDER APPLICATION

Section 1:
Facility Information:
Name of Facility: Director:
Street Address: City:
County: State: Zip:
Mailing Address: City:
County: State: Zip:
Primary Telephone Number: Alternate Telephone Number:
Email Address:
Are you exempt from licensing? If licensed by another state or
agency, License number: Date of license:
Owner Information:
Name (first, middle, last):
Street Address: City:
County: State: Zip:
Mailing Address: City:
County: State: Zip:
Telephone Number: Fax: Email:
SSN/EIN Date of Birth: Gender:_
Race: Hispanic/Latino?
Are you a high school graduate or do you have a GED?
Primary Language Spoken: Written:
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Headquarters (Complete this information only if you have more than one facility
that is enrolled or enrolling with DCF):

Name:

Address:

Telephone Number: Fax Number:

Email Address:

Rate Information:

LICENSED CHILD CARE CENTER RATES:

AGE AMOUNT FREQUENCY
Infant 0-11 months

Toddler 12-35 months

Preschool 36-59 months

School Age 60 months and older

LICENSED CHILD CARE HOME RATES:

AGE AMOUNT FREQUENCY
Infant 0-17 months

Toddler 18-35 months

Preschool 36-59 months

School Age 60 months and older
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Do you charge an Enroliment fee?

Enrollment fee/child:

Enroliment fee/family:

Do you charge a minimum daily rate?

If Yes, your minimum daily rate:

Do you charge a minimum number of hours/days?
If Yes, your minimum number of hours:
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FACILITY OPERATION INFORMATION
__ AllYear (Janthrough Dec) ____ Summer Only (June through Aug)
_____School Year Only (Sept through May)
DAYS AND HOURS OF OPERATION
MONDAY | TUESDAY 'WEDNESD |THURSDAY FRIDAY SATURDAY SUNDAY

Background Check: Background checks are completed on all providers enrolling with DCF. DCF
checks the name(s) of the provider and all person’s age 10 or over who reside, work or regularly
volunteer in achild care facility. Each person must pass a background check before the agreement
is approved. A provider is not eligible to be approved if the names of any of these persons appear

on the Child Abuse-Neglect Registry, the Adult Abuse, Neglect or Exploitation Registry or the
Kansas Adult Supervised Population Electronic Repository (KASPER), or if any of them have

felony convictions.

Please list all persons who reside, work or regularly volunteer in the child care facility, including the
Owner and Substitutes. Attach an extra sheet if necessary. (Changes must be reported to child care
provider enrollment staff.)

Effective
Date of
Affiliation

Name (Last,
First, Middle)

Maiden Name or
Other Aliases

SSN

Date of
Birth

Sex

Race

Hispanic/
Latino (Y
or N)
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Does anyone who lives, works or volunteers in your home/facility have felony convictions that have
not been expunged?

OYES QNO (O EXPUNGED

If yes, provide name of person, date and court of action, county and state:

Please continue to the next page for statement review and signature
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Read the following statements and check that you agree:

I\We declare, under penalty of perjury, that to the best of my (our) knowledge,
the information provided in this application is true and correct.

I understand that the terms listed in the DCF provider handbook and child care
provider agreement (including Section 9) are incorporated into my provider agreement with
DCF and are legally binding. My signature on this application certifies that | have read and
understand those terms and agree to them.

I/We the undersigned are the person(s) named as the Applicant or the person(s)
authorized to represent the owner listed above.

DCF Provider Permission to Release Information and Signature

My signature on this application authorizes employers, health care providers, EBT Contractor,
and other financial institutions, insurance providers, benefit providers and other persons or
agencies with knowledge of my circumstances to release to Kansas Department for Children and
Families (DCF) any information, including, banking information and confidential information,
necessary to administer to any program for which | applied or am contracted with, including, but
not limited to, my provider agreement with DCF.

I understand all information provided on this application and all information provided to DCF staff
on my behalf is protected by state and federal confidentiality laws.

This release is valid from the date of signature set out below and shall remain valid until revoked
in writing by the undersigned. A copy of this authorization is as valid as the original.

I understand that in addition to other penalties, it is illegal to obtain, attempt to obtain, or help any
person to obtain, by means of a willfully false statement or representation, or by impersonation,
collusion, or other fraudulent device, assistance to which they or | am not entitled, and this shall
constitute the crime of theft, as defined by K.S.A. 21-5801 and amendments, which could be a
felony offense punishment by imprisonment, fine or both, and the offender may also be subject to
prosecution under other applicable state and federal law.

My signature on this application certifies that I have read and understand these terms and agree to
them.

Print Provider Name:

Provider Signature (Required) Date (Required)
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Submit this completed form along with a copy of your parent/provider contract or agreement and the
Adult Abuse, Neglect, Exploitation Central Registry Release of Information for DCF Child Care
Provider Enrollment filled out by all individual (s) 18 years or older who are living, working or
volunteering in the facility.

This includes all other individual (s) whose activities involve either supervised or unsupervised
access to children.

Additional Requested Forms to include:

Signed Policy Statement on Discipline (form in handbook and attached to thisapplication)

Verification of KDHE exempt status (if exempt)

Copy of your license (if licensed by another state or agency)

Standards set by sponsoring state or agency (if licensed by another state oragency)

Fire Inspection documentation (if not located at a school attendance center)

Verification of required health and safety training, annual training for all staff (16 hours)

including 4 hours annually in health and safety.

FOR AGENCY USE ONLY:

Agreement Start Date: End Date:
County Code: Provider ID:

(DCF) Designee Printed Name:

(DCF) Designee Signature: Date:
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POLICY STATEMENT ON DISCIPLINE
DCF Child Care Providers

The following are some examples of unacceptable forms of discipline:
Humiliating, frightening or physically harming a child;

Punishing, such as spanking (with the hand or any object), slapping, shaking, swatting,
pulling hair, dunking, yanking the arm, or anything similar;

Making verbal remarks using sarcasm, put-downs, verbal cuts, derogatory remarks, any
other verbal abuse, and threats about the child or the child’s family;

Binding or tying to restrict movement, or enclosing in a confined space, such as a closet,
locked room, furniture, box or cubicle;

Withholding or forcing foods or liquids; and/or
Placing substances that sting or burn on any of a child’s body parts.

It shall be the policy of the Kansas Department for Children and Families (DCF) not to purchase or
continue to purchase services from providers who use unacceptable forms of discipline.

Discipline is an essential part of child rearing, and when used positively it contributes to the healthy
growth and development of a child. Positive discipline establishes acceptable patterns of behavior
that promote behaviors beneficial to the child’s development and welfare. It changes or eliminates
behaviors that are injurious to the child’s well-being. Positive discipline is encouraged as an
important part of child rearing for children and youth for whom the DCF purchases and/or provides
services and care.

Positive discipline, when used for purposes of guiding and teaching the child, provides to the

child encouragement, a sense of satisfaction, and it helps the child understand the consequences

of behavior. Effective, positive discipline imposes behavioral limits on the child that can provide a
sense of security, a respect for order and enable the child to predict and understand surroundings.
Positive discipline effectively enlists the child’s help rather than locking the child and adult into

a power struggle or adversarial, punishing relationship. Positive discipline promotes the child’s
discovery of those values that will be of the greatest benefit to the child, both now and in the future.

Provider’s Signature Date
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Adult Abuse, Neglect, Exploitation Central Registry Release of Information for DCF Child Care
Provider Enrollment

Please PRINT ONLY, except for the signature below.
l, , give permission for the release of

information concerning myself in the Adult Abuse, Neglect, Exploitation Central Registry
to: DCFE Child Care Provider Enrollment Unit.

Maiden Name and/or Other Names Known By:

Address: ; . :
(Street) (City) (State) (Zip Code)

DOB: SSN: SEX: M or F
(mm/dd/yyyy)

| understand thatall information released will be for the exclusive and confidential use of
the DCF Child Care Provider Enrollment Unit. | have read and understand this form
and the information provided is true and correct to the best of my knowledge.

| give permission for the release of any information concerning myself in the
Adult Abuse, Neglect, & Exploitation Central Registry each year while | am a
DCF Child Care Provider. Name of Provider Yes NO (circle Yes or No)

Applicant Signature:

Must be an Ink Signature

Per KEESM 10035 #1:

DCF cannot enroll a person who is listed as a prohibited person in the Child
Abuse/Neglect Central Registry or the Adult Abuse, Neglect, & Exploitation Central
Registry and/or listed in Kansas Adult Supervised Population Electronic Repository

(KASPER) as being convicted of a felony

DCF Administration Use Only: Date
Substantiated:

Finding - Check all that apply:
Abuse Neglect

Exploitation

Fiduciary Abuse

Financial Exploitation
C-13

Page 10






